View topic - Yafaray for professional archviz

Yafaray for professional archviz

Post here your finished projects. Your work could form part of our gallery!

Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:17 pm

For those that remain sceptic about yafaray professional use I made a small test.
I downloaded a famous 3ds max scene from 2011 evermotion contest made by Steve Cole.
I converted it to a 3ds scene with uvmaps.
I imported it into blender because the script is nicer.
I then played around with yafaray settings.
Within 3ds max the scene is very slow and dificult to change.
Blender manages it much better.
I didn't had the trees so I placed ones made by andrew price.
I also didn't had the grass with displacement because I had only a small amount of time.
I made some vignetting and color balancing on the compositor and there you go! :D
Yafaray and Blender gave me a lesson:
Feed them with nice textures and you wil crop magnificent results!
steve10.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Arquitecto can be contacted here:
Arquitectos
Arquitecto
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Sat Dec 24, 2011 12:16 am

For comparison:-
http://www.evermotion.org/files/competi ... ner_03.jpg

Rendered with V-Ray 1.5

"Used render effect filters : color balance, brightness&contrast, MdFilter, Defocus, Film Grain. I used onyx broadleaf and free models from evermotion. The scene contains about 5 million polygons. I left everything in geometry so the render needed about 5-6GB RAM and 1 hour on my Core2 Quad. I hope you like it!"
User avatar
stoneage
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:31 am

Only one word.. !WOOOW!!
Nice work.
povmaniaco
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 10:40 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Sat Dec 24, 2011 8:12 am

I'm not surprised. Yafaray has all the potential, though it lacks features and flexibility in comparison with vray.

1/3 of the realism of the original render comes from postpro, anyway. (and another 1/3 from nice texturing)
User avatar
_Mo_
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:57 am

The Yafaray render is blurred, why is that?
PLyczkowski
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:44 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:11 pm

PLyczkowski wrote:The Yafaray render is blurred, why is that?


Hi PLycczkowski,

The blur came from the compositor.
I thought it added an emotional feeling just like vigneting or color balance.
But other would prefer it other way...
I just wanted to make a statement about yafaray\blender .
Arquitecto can be contacted here:
Arquitectos
Arquitecto
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:10 pm

Very nice.

I would like to test it with Cycles :-)

Kind regards
Alain
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 480, Blender 2.63a, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:05 pm

Hi guys,

Thanks for your comments.
Here is the original and beloved yafaray render.
steve8.jpg


Here is the nodes setup:
arquitectos_nodes.jpg


Alain,
Can you exlain me this cycles trend?
It's a great unbiased render but lacking lots of nice features.
Biased renders are dificult to use on professional archviz where time is crucial.
But I may be wrong about cycles.
Yafaray with displacement mapping, distributed rendering and irradiance cache can be a wounderfull choice for professional archviz.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Arquitecto can be contacted here:
Arquitectos
Arquitecto
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:23 pm

@Arquitecto

Cylces is very fast (GPU rendering is supported and support for multiple GPU-Devices is in the todo list).
Cycles is very easy to use (Material Node Editor)
Cycles supports Instancing (saves alot of memory if you wanna do grass or a realistic carpet in architecture-viz)

Ok, it doesn't support Displacement yet, but I guess in most of the cases of architecture-renderings you can do it with the Displacement-Modifier.
And OK, it does not support Volumeshaders like SSS or similar things like the Fog-Multiplyer in V-Ray for realistic Water but it's in the todo list as well.

Here are some Interior examples:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthr ... nese-style

If you like I can try to render your scene with Cycles.


Kind regards
Alain
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 480, Blender 2.63a, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:00 am

Yafaray with displacement mapping, distributed rendering and irradiance cache can be a wounderfull choice for professional archviz.


Agree. Plus GPU-support and correct camera clipping (I mean, the straight clipping plane, not the sphere part,which depends on lens, as it implemented now) it would be just great.
suomi
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:59 am

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:49 am

I agree if Yafaray cames to GPU this could defenitly be interesting.

Kind regards
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 480, Blender 2.63a, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:01 am

Alejandro,
Yafaray doesn´t fake backgrounds like blender or 3ds.
So if you have a jpg without correct sphere mapping you must change canvas size to double height and the bottom half must be black.
Otherwise, you can stick to my method and 3dsvray way, dome mesh with uvmap, lights inside and photon map setting.

Alain,
I will love to see you render it on cycles.
Can you anyone point me a way of posting this 150 mb file?
This way everyone can learn with Steve cole and yafaray blender .

About cycles,
You guys said it almost all.
You forgot to say that yafaray isn't used in all it's potential by the blender community.
Most of the time cycles isn't the right choice...
Arquitecto can be contacted here:
Arquitectos
Arquitecto
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:20 pm

Arquitecto wrote:Can you anyone point me a way of posting this 150 mb file?


you can use megaupload
http://megaupload.com/
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 2869
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:24 pm

Samo,
Thank you very much but AlejandroSoto sent me a message with other hosting service and I had already uploaded it.
Here is the file:
http://min.us/mblonJGwEN#1o

And here is a file Alejandro asked me with background correctly mapped.
http://min.us/mEUaYzwxG#1o

The post pro nodes are in other file but I think anyone can do it without much time, right? :)

And for those interested in playing with settings I must advice to swich off the trees in order to test results, because if you don't , you will have your pc burning for a long time :D
And please share your best settings on the examples section for instance. 8)
Arquitecto can be contacted here:
Arquitectos
Arquitecto
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: Yafaray for professional archviz

Post Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:56 am

Thanks a lot for the files just WOW......
allan_james
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:21 am

Next

Return to Finished Projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest