View topic - Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

General discussion on lighting, backgrounds, Global Illumination, rendering parameters and tonnemapping.

Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:11 am

Hi everyone, I'm new to Yafaray and I didn't clearly understand how it works.
I've created a scene with cycles, where the illumination comes only from the outside, from my hdr image that I've used as environment texture.
Now I'm trying to render it with Yafaray, but when I click on "Render" it lasts just few seconds and it doesn't render anything (it's not that the image is black, simply there is nothing). I've tried to put a point as light type but the result is the same. Where am I going wrong?
Also, I've got some problems with the interface: whenever I go to world settings when I'm using YafaRay, blender freezes. Is it a problem caused by the hdr image?
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:02 am

Hi

Are you rendering on Windows? To test whether your YafaRay installation works is better using one of the demo files, you can find link on the left column of the site. Also if you enable back console on windows installations, YafaRay outputs there any error message, for instance when a texture is not found. Remember that YafaRay can not load Blender encapsulated textures, you must unpack first.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:29 am

Yes, I'm rendering on Windows.
I've just tested two of the demos in the site and it renders a black image.
My steps for installation where:
-Download YafaRay 0.1.5 for windows
-go to user preferences-> add -ons ->install from file
-select the .zip downloaded
-enable render yafaray
Did I miss something?
Btw I've tried to render a simple colored cube and in this case it works.
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:34 am

Well I don't know for sure, if Blender allows you to enable the addon then it is correctly installed. Also be sure YafaRay is selected as active render engine on the top of the interface. Demo files should work correctly.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:49 am

Yes it is set to active.
I don't know what is changed but now it seems to render something, but there is another problem.
The scene is now rendering in black and white: I thought this could be a problem of materials because all the objects' materials where made using nodes in cycles, so I've tried applying new simple materials (all shiny diffus) but it doesn't work anyway, while it correctly shows the hdr image for the environment.
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:26 am

Hello,

Please try the Experimental v0.1.99-beta4 version, you can download Linux 32/64bits and Windows 32/64bits versions from here:

http://www.graphicall.org/yafaray

Please let us know if that version solves the problem.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:30 am

David Bluecame wrote:Hello,

Please try the Experimental v0.1.99-beta4 version, you can download Linux 32/64bits and Windows 32/64bits versions from here:

http://www.graphicall.org/yafaray

Please let us know if that version solves the problem.

I'm already using that :\
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:58 am

Please make sure the materials in YafaRay are not using Nodes. If you set a material to use nodes in Blender Internal or Cycles it would cause problems in YafaRay.

If needed, for the tests, create a new material in YafaRay and try it.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:59 am

Also you need to enable IBL in the World texture.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:19 am

David Bluecame wrote:Please make sure the materials in YafaRay are not using Nodes. If you set a material to use nodes in Blender Internal or Cycles it would cause problems in YafaRay.

If needed, for the tests, create a new material in YafaRay and try it.

Yes, this is what I did, I've assigned new simple materials (shiny diffuse) to some objects to see if it would work.
IBL is enabled
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:22 am

Hello,

Will you please upload your scene (compressed in zip) so we can take a look.

I'm really busy now but I will be able to look at it this evening.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:36 am

Here is the file.
I modified just the couch's and blanket's material to try it.
Thanks a lot, no hurry

http://www.filedropper.com/roomyaf3
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:40 pm

Hello,

This is what I think from analyzing your scene:
* Background texture rotation in YafaRay is probably different from Blender Internal/Cycles. So, you didn't have the sun in the side of the entrance. Therefore the only light received by the interior objects was the (weaker and blue) light from the sky. So, as the couch is red when illuminated with blue appeared black.

* In general renderers have difficulties rendering interiors from background IBL lights, as light paths are not easy to be found.

So, I have done the following changes to your scene. Please see the example image with the results:

* Set the World texture rotation to 180º. That way the sun would be in the side of the entrance, giving brighter and more white light to the scene.

* Create a simple plane covering the entire entrance "hole". Make sure that the normal of that plane points to the interior of the building. Then, in the properties panels of that plane, in the "object properties", go down until you find "Enable BG portal light", set it the power to, for example, 4 (but you can experiment until you get the illumination you want). A "portal light" is a trick to let the renderer know where the background light comes from so it's easier to find the light paths.

For more information about Portal Lights and other interesting information, see:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OZFmrUXsopMsuhHU_IVSo2FBh0XQx_hG7ryrrfBWgks/edit

I hope it helps.
Attachments
untitled.png
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:13 pm

This is an example of your scene, with the two changes I mention above and rendered with Photon Mapping and Antialiasing=8 samples. Render time=23 minutes aprox.

I hope this is somewhat similar to what you wanted to achieve.

Best regards!
Attachments
RoomYaf3.jpg
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Problems with first render with yafaray -how to use lights?

Post Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:44 am

Thanks a lot.
Yes, the scene I've rendered with cycles is similar to that, I just have to apply some texture and make the couch look like leather as I did with the other; guess I'm gonna start with some tutorials. Thanks again!
User avatar
MaryCooper7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:02 am


Return to Lighting and Rendering



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests