View topic - SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Ask here your questions about development and about raytracing theory & implementation. Here you can post your patches for review.

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:29 am

Hi,

I can't start this plugin.
When I load Sketchup free 8.048, I have this message:
su2ya_error.jpg
error message
su2ya_error.jpg (14.97 KiB) Viewed 13201 times


There is a solution :?:
I'm french. Excuse me if my english is not good.
http://www.vertex-polygon.com
http://www.facebook.com/vertex.polygon
User avatar
tchap
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:28 am
Location: France-Grenoble

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:26 pm

Hey Exvion

Just wondering how the Sketchup exporter is coming along. I have just done some tests with the current version and I must say i am impressed with that has been achieved so far.

Scoob..
trippy3
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:20 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:49 pm

Hi

Any news on an update for the exporter, especially material management?

Cheers

Scoob...
trippy3
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:20 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:54 pm

How install su2yafaray on Windows
https://github.com/exvion/su2yafaray/wiki/Installation

trippy3 wrote:Any news on an update for the exporter, especially material management?

http://tinyurl.com/66c9lfj
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:03 am

exvion wrote:How install su2yafaray on Windows
https://github.com/exvion/su2yafaray/wiki/Installation

I have seen an known issue on the repository for my error message.

I think I have the solution :idea:

It's an error during the download. On the repository, when you click "download", you have generally 2 links : tar.gz and zip (372ko). I generally use one of both. But with this plugin, you have a third link named "download packages" (9,4Mo) which works :o
github.jpg
Download Packages and not Source
github.jpg (32.11 KiB) Viewed 13156 times


Just download "packages" and not "source". It's an strange presentation from GitHub, no :?:
I'm french. Excuse me if my english is not good.
http://www.vertex-polygon.com
http://www.facebook.com/vertex.polygon
User avatar
tchap
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:28 am
Location: France-Grenoble

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:53 pm

tchap wrote:Hi,

I can't start this plugin.
When I load Sketchup free 8.048, I have this message:
su2ya_error.jpg


There is a solution :?:


Hi,
I have the same problem too with sketchup 7.1 run on Windows 7 x64. I think I have the solution for this,

For Windows 7 x64 goto control panel ->system->advance system settings->environment variable.. and at system variables find the "path" setting and click edit.. add your "<drive>:\<install dir>\Yafaray for sketchup" or some place of yours to the begining of the value and ok

now you can go sketchup and look if the exporter load finish or not!?
Last edited by koranot on Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
koranot
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:20 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:18 pm

How install su2yafaray on Windows?
Download this file
https://github.com/downloads/exvion/su2 ... 110315.zip (8.6Мb)
and extract it in "Google Sketchup folder\Plugins".
Last edited by exvion on Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:35 am

koranot wrote:
tchap wrote:Hi,

I can't start this plugin.
When I load Sketchup free 8.048, I have this message:
su2ya_error.jpg


There is a solution :?:


Hi,
I have the same problem too with sketchup 7.1 run on Windows 7 x64. I think I have the solution for this,

For Windows 7 x64 goto control panel ->system->advance system settings->environment variable.. and at system variables find the "path" setting and click edit.. add your "<drive>:\<install dir>\Yafaray for sketchup" or some place of yours to the begining of the value and ok

now you can go sketchup and look if the exporter load finish or not!?


It was the solution with my Windows XP :D Thank's :wink:

I can't change the color slots. Is it a bug :?:
I'm french. Excuse me if my english is not good.
http://www.vertex-polygon.com
http://www.facebook.com/vertex.polygon
User avatar
tchap
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:28 am
Location: France-Grenoble

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:52 pm

tchap wrote:
koranot wrote:
tchap wrote:Hi,

I can't start this plugin.
When I load Sketchup free 8.048, I have this message:
su2ya_error.jpg


There is a solution :?:


Hi,
I have the same problem too with sketchup 7.1 run on Windows 7 x64. I think I have the solution for this,

For Windows 7 x64 goto control panel ->system->advance system settings->environment variable.. and at system variables find the "path" setting and click edit.. add your "<drive>:\<install dir>\Yafaray for sketchup" or some place of yours to the begining of the value and ok

now you can go sketchup and look if the exporter load finish or not!?


It was the solution with my Windows XP :D Thank's :wink:

I can't change the color slots. Is it a bug :?:


Sorry too, I think you must wait for next release!! :(
koranot
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:20 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:20 pm

Hi. What a great stuff! I did find out about SU2YafaRay (and about YafaRay) yesterday, and i got it running in a few hours. Thank you.

So far i've found a few issues that i wanted to share so they might be fixed, how ever i dont really know where to report them... meanwhile here they are.

1.- As other posters, I did have to change the PATH on the windows environment, so the plugin works.
that could be added to the https://github.com/exvion/su2yafaray/wiki/Installation page

The fact that having YafaRay instaled is required could be also added, even if most people will figure that out, sooner or later.

2.- It would be nice to have two buttons:
* the current YafaRay export icon.
* a new YafaRay export and render icon.

[This is just me being lazy, but i find myself doing this a lot of times: hit the YafaRay export icon -> hit the Yes on the dialog box.]

Now. Real issues making SU crash.

3.- Crash after exporting.

reproduce: always
how:
hit the "Export button".
A message apears: "Export done/star render?"
hit "No"
<crash>

4.- Crash when exporting and YafaRay is open.

reproduce: always
how:
hit the "Export button" and start rendering (dont close the Yafaray window)
hit again the "Export button" and start rendering again
crash.


Using SU 8.0.4811 + SU2Yafaray version 0.1 alpha 29th June 2010

That is all for now. Thanks.
ycdtosa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:50 pm

New build https://github.com/downloads/exvion/su2 ... 110315.zip
Everybody who had problems with previous builds, try it.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay. Coming soon.

Post Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:04 am

exvion wrote:New build https://github.com/downloads/exvion/su2 ... 110315.zip
Everybody who had problems with previous builds, try it.


I just Installed on a pristine machine ( no prior yafaray installed )
there where no PATH issues found this time.

Thanks.


still got some issues:

setup:

    * Sketchup 8.0.4811 (free)
    * yafaray 0.1.2-beta2.1
    * su2yafaray from 20110315.zip

#0.- (completly minor)
the su2yafaray about box still reads v0.1 alfa 29 June 2010
needs update ;-)

#1.- CRASH if you dont want to render!
  • hit the yafaray exporter button..
  • you get the message "Export Done. Start render"
  • answer NO.
  • CRASH.
#2.- CRASH if yafaray rendering window is open
  • hit the yafaray exporter button..
  • you get the message "Export Done. Start render?"
  • answer YES.
  • Go back to work on SU (without closing the yafaray rendering window).
  • export and render (again)
  • CRASH.

Is there any issue tracking to report these?
Meanwhile i hope this helps.


Thanks again. VERY nice work!
ycdtosa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:56 pm

Hi, ycdtosa. Thanks for bug reports.
No need to install yafaray 0.1.2-beta2.1.
su2yafaray already includes yafaray's binaries in folder "Google Sketchup\Plugins\su2yafaray\bin"

Bugtracker for su2yafaray:
https://github.com/exvion/su2yafaray/issues
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:06 pm

Hello exvion!
Well, I am experiencing a strange problem:
when I check the ambient occlusion the render window simply do not appears. In fact, any message appears.
Also, every time I render something, the buttons on the render window do not work, well, the work, but only during the render. When the render finishes, they don't work anymore.
Well, thanks.
wlldm
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:33 am

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu May 05, 2011 4:15 am

Hello,
i have encountered a problem: cannot choose colors for materials , basically i cannot play with any material option because when i render nothing changes in the picture .
I also checked clay render, and the render comes with the same colors like i wasn't checked that already.
I wasn't able to apply any light emissive material whatsoever.
Are these going to be implemented or just doesn't work on my PC: windows 7 64bit and SU 8.

On a happy note: i like the blender style interface that yafa has and the fact that under Plugins-Yafaray there is material editor, export and setting. It would be awesome to have them as buttons right netx to Render button on the SU GUi.
DSAanimator
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 4:01 am

PreviousNext

Return to Developers' Corner



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron