View topic - SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Ask here your questions about development and about raytracing theory & implementation. Here you can post your patches for review.

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:14 am

diffid, I fixed error and updated installer. Try it.
Last edited by exvion on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:34 pm

Whoaa! We have lift off. :-) Got to test this now. :-)
diffid
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:14 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:53 am

Hi Exvion

I have problems with rendering. All scenes crash at about 17% render time. SU v6 and 7.1 Little men scenes don't crash though. :-)

Windows XP Pro SP3 32bit
Core2Duo 6700
2GB Ram

LuxRender export and LuxRender works fine with these scenes on same hardware. Does Yafaray build or SU Script have memory management issues?
diffid
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:14 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Sat Jul 03, 2010 6:59 pm

Hi.
SU2YafaRay_0.1_alpha_20100703
Added export xml-file. Use Plugins->YafaRay->Export

diffid, you can export the scene in the xml and run "yafaray-xml.exe scenename.xml". Please post log here.
Last edited by exvion on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:34 pm

I have several questions about your exporter, I've never used sketchup myself before

Does it work with sketchup 'bare' version or it needs sketchup pro?
How is it installed?
do you happen to have a screenshot of yafaray panels settings in sketchup?
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:31 am

SU2YafaRay_0.1_alpha 2010-07-07

Changes:
Fixed a bug of export materials which was the cause of crash render.
Fixed export in xml, missing render section and incorrect material names.
Some work on settings editor. Settings panel is disabled.

diffid, try your scene again.

Samo, you can use Sketchup Free or Pro version.
How is it installed?

See first post.

do you happen to have a screenshot of yafaray panels settings in sketchup?

greenshot_2010-07-06_01-18-26.png
yafaray panels settings
Last edited by exvion on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:43 pm, edited 3 times in total.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:43 am

Thanks for your answers. It is now announced on the front page. It might be a good idea to announce it in the SketchUp forums.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:18 am

Exvion, no crashing now Woot!! great update.

I see no settings panel in the latest script? Although I read through script and see it has settings code, just not showing a 'Settings' choice in menu or icon or panel anywhere?
diffid
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:14 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:46 am

Samo, thanks for announcement.

diffid, thank you for testing. Settings panel is off, because now it is not suitable for use.

Once it is ready, I will make announcement on the Sketchup forums.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:00 am

Exvion, sorry I misunderstood, looks good so far. :-)
diffid
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:14 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Fri Jul 09, 2010 2:07 pm

This is exciting and scary at the same time.
I've been reluctant to learn yet another 3d application (blender) since I'm trying to learn Revit for my industry (architecture). The BIM Boom demands you know a BIM package to be competetive. Every architect uses Sketch-Up now. A free quality raytracer like this with such easy access from SU at once saves me having to learn Blender right now, and on the other hand takes away the competitive edge I may have had, being that most architects wouldn't have been arsed to learn Blender.

I can't wait to see this thing working through SU with materials.

I'd donate to something that worked like that. Of course, once it does, it will explode (in a good way) in the AEC industry.
Echelon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:56 pm

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Sun Jul 11, 2010 5:01 pm

Is there a Mac version of the exporter available?
Felix Lorsignol
http://ro.boti.ca
User avatar
florsignol
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:49 am

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:59 pm

Hi, florsignol.
I will try to build a version for Mac after finished settings editor.
exvion
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:40 pm
Location: Russia

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:41 am

Help...
I installed both files YafaRay for Sketch Up 7.1, but I look in all menu tabs and I can't find "yafaray panels settings"
I missing something?

─Thanks 4 ur help! :D

Image
Yoi ichinichi wo!
User avatar
adorian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:50 am
Location: Mexico City

Re: SU2YafaRay - Sketchup Exporter for YafaRay

Post Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:31 pm

Hi,

thanks very much for this great exporter.

I also have a problem to find the settings panel : no way to find it !
Can you give me a hand ?

Thanks
jeyce
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:28 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Developers' Corner



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron