View topic - Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Yafaray for Blender 2.58

General questions related with the YafaRay Project, 3D computer graphics and about this site.

Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:39 am

Hi I want to use Yafaray in Blender 2.58 which was downloaded from blender.org, how do I do so ?
NSanjay
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:34 am

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:33 am

Hi,
I think it's easier to download a bundle build (Blender with Yafaray):
http://www.graphicall.org/megasoft78

Cheers,
Gabriele
User avatar
gabriele.ferreri
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:03 pm

HDRI don't illuminating scene now???
Tested on Mac OSX, Linux 64 and Win 64.
What the shit???
Finally solved the problem with alt+d copies and transp shadows (after half year!), as another began.
Someone still use YaR?
Why no one reported so important bugs?
I understand that the YaR is free, there is no much people to code it, but it's really important errors that can not be avoided.
_______________
Yaroslav Lebidko.
Interior, lighting design. Architecture visualization.
http://www.3DXATA.com
User avatar
Yaroslav_L
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Poland - Gdańsk

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:08 pm

No problem here with illuminating by HDRI.
Can you show us your settings?

If you notice a problem, be so kind and ask here for help. Or use the bug tracker.
HHS
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:17 pm

Likewise, hdri lighting is working fine here on linux 64. Maybe you can post an example file?
User avatar
stoneage
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:40 pm

World > Texture > Image or Movie > Use IBL + Diffuse Photons...
I'm using yafray and YaR by years!
1 st only Ang Map works, but only with rot=0, when I try to rotate it I get black screen.
No - 10 degree works, 20 no...
It was on Mac.
Rebooting to Lin...
Please - don't write nothing - I want to continue
_______________
Yaroslav Lebidko.
Interior, lighting design. Architecture visualization.
http://www.3DXATA.com
User avatar
Yaroslav_L
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Poland - Gdańsk

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:00 pm

Well, I'm always getting this warning:

Code: Select all
WARNING: World texture mapping neither Sphere nor AngMap!


even though I use HDRs from hdrlabs.com, which are definitely in the right format (spherical).
User avatar
_Mo_
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:10 pm

_Mo_ wrote:Well, I'm always getting this warning:

Code: Select all
WARNING: World texture mapping neither Sphere nor AngMap!


even though I use HDRs from hdrlabs.com, which are definitely in the right format (spherical).

Because you didn't set the texture mapping to Sphere on the Yafaray texture mapping panel?

I can reproduce that here using 'View' instead of 'Sphere' :)
User avatar
stoneage
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Ok.
In MacOSX and Linux only 90 +-10, 180 +-10, 270 +-10 degree of hdri rotations works.
In Win - everything Ok.
But! Angular Map can't show evironment correctly with some degree rotation.
Attachments
Arch_Project-01-YaR-DL-c3.jpg
Look at the clouds
_______________
Yaroslav Lebidko.
Interior, lighting design. Architecture visualization.
http://www.3DXATA.com
User avatar
Yaroslav_L
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Poland - Gdańsk

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:13 pm

Yaroslav_L wrote:But! Angular Map can't show evironment correctly with some degree rotation.


To my knowledge it never has, that's why I prefer spherical maps
HHS
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:25 pm

My maps works well in V-Ray, Cycles, Lux, ...
_______________
Yaroslav Lebidko.
Interior, lighting design. Architecture visualization.
http://www.3DXATA.com
User avatar
Yaroslav_L
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Poland - Gdańsk

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:45 pm

Yaroslav_L wrote:My maps works well in V-Ray, Cycles, Lux, ...

So maybe Yafaray isn't for you.


Now that you have evidence of the problem, write a report, and post it in the bug tracker, along with an example file, details of your operating system, the Blender/Yafaray versions affected, and instructions on how to reproduce it.

You might also consider posting here if it affects Yafaray 0.1.2:-
http://www.yafaray.org/community/forum/ ... =12&t=3452
User avatar
stoneage
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:36 pm

stoneage wrote:Because you didn't set the texture mapping to Sphere on the Yafaray texture mapping panel?

I can reproduce that here using 'View' instead of 'Sphere' :)


D'OH! :)

The whole time I was working under the assumption that it should know what type I have loaded.

Maybe it would be better if this setting could be moved to the world tab? Not because I would want to keep on being lazy, but to not have setting for one thing (ie. environment) dispersed in two tabs. This mapping setting is really more an environment thing. Or totally remove any ability to load images from the world tab and just allow selecting textures that have been set in the texture tab? Either way it will be harder to miss the setting.

EDIT: Funny thing tho', the reflections were working properly (or so it seemed to me), that's why I haven't noticed that something is wrong...

EDIT2: I just now tested it and I get exactly the same render (reflections and illumination) when I use "sphere" and when I use "view" mapping for a spherical HDRI. Hmm...
Attachments
hdrmapping.jpg
User avatar
_Mo_
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:03 am

Stoneage - I'm using YaR so long time - I can't forget it!
And about bug report - U right - I will write it.
_______________
Yaroslav Lebidko.
Interior, lighting design. Architecture visualization.
http://www.3DXATA.com
User avatar
Yaroslav_L
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Poland - Gdańsk

Re: Yafaray for Blender 2.58

Post Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:51 pm

Hi all,

I also have the problem as Yaroslav_L said. I had already submitted the bug report, but it's been 6 weeks still no anybody try to fix it.

http://yafaray.org/node/489

By visiting the bugtracker, I realized a lot of issues are pending as feature requests, it seems like the developer is lacking of programmers. I wish I could help, but I'm not a coder.
Handoko Zhang
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:09 pm


Return to News & Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron