View topic - Win7 x64

Win7 x64

General questions related with the YafaRay Project, 3D computer graphics and about this site.

Win7 x64

Post Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:59 am

Hello to everyone,

Im wondering if there will be a x64 version of this GREAT renderer for windows PLZ.


Sincerely, JayM
User avatar
janmatys
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:53 pm

We need a platform maintainer for Win 64, as simple as that.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Win7 x64

Post Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:43 am

what is a platform maintainer? what is his job/responsibility/requirements?
lightning2911
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:39 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:54 pm

Owning a Windows 64 machine
Knowing how to build YafaRay on windows.
Building YafaRay on Win 64, and posting here his/her compilation.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Win7 x64

Post Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:48 pm

i am using vista 64 and will switch to w7/64 but i have no idea how to build/compile yafaray.

is this something i can learn with tutorials? do i need additional software?
lightning2911
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:39 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:09 pm

lightning2911 wrote:i am using vista 64 and will switch to w7/64 but i have no idea how to build/compile yafaray.

is this something i can learn with tutorials? do i need additional software?


At the moment there are only two people who are able to compile YafaRay on windows, they are Darktide and _bert, two yafaray developers. They don't have a Win 64 machine and it's a difficult task for somebody not experimented on compiling tasks.

You can contact them in the chat room.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: Win7 x64

Post Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:23 am

Will be GREAT if someone could make this happen! I used Ubuntu x64 before and everything runs smooth and WELL in Blender and Yafa but I have to move back to Win because of bad drivers for USB and NTFS in Linux - runs VERY slooow when copy files to USB-stick or NTFS formated HDD (and also uses A LOT of CPU!!!). Now on Win7 x64 I have Blender x64 because of better memory management and wanna use also x64 Yafa if this will be possible. This is the ONLY renderer I use with Blender (except internal) because I really LIKE IT (FAST, SIMPLE, GREAT RESULTS..)!

JayM
User avatar
janmatys
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:19 pm

after lots and lots of research i found that x64 stands for AMD. i am using a intel64 pc so unfortunately i cannot be of help here. :(
lightning2911
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:39 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:15 am

janmatys, don't use NTFS on Linux (except for a 'share' partition if you have dualboot). Use ext3/ext4/reiserFS...

lightning, x64 doesn't "stand for AMD", it's just a generic term to refer to a 64 bit architecture. You can still compile Yafaray 64 bit binaries on your intel. From wiki:
The term x86-64 is the original naming of a 64-bit extension to the x86 instruction set specified by Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) and implemented by AMD, Intel, VIA, and others. The generic term x86-64 is sometimes shortened to x64 as another vendor-neutral term for x86-64 processors from any company.
User avatar
_Mo_
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Win7 x64

Post Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:13 am

the way i understood it x64 is used for AMD processors and IA64 for Intel.

but i guess there is no official lingo (or maybe many :-) ) also i learnt that for non-specials it does not matter. 64bit compiled will work on both vendors x64-processor families.

as i will be receiving Win7 soon I will restart the research then on how to compile 64bit code for win7.

if anyone has tutorials or links i can study please let me so.
lightning2911
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:39 pm

Re: Win7 x64

Post Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:59 am

Hi

What is needed to compile yafa on windows ? I guess it's like blender ? MSVC, cmake ?
I used to build my own blender from svn on win vista 32. Now that i'm on win 7 x64, maybe i could help a bit in building a 64 bits version of yafaray as i'm looking forward to have it working on my win 7...

Let me know if it's possible to do so, i'd be glad to help for a while :)
ElderMessiah
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:53 am

Re: Win7 x64

Post Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:05 pm

ElderMessiah wrote:Hi

What is needed to compile yafa on windows ? I guess it's like blender ? MSVC, cmake ?
I used to build my own blender from svn on win vista 32. Now that i'm on win 7 x64, maybe i could help a bit in building a 64 bits version of yafaray as i'm looking forward to have it working on my win 7...

Let me know if it's possible to do so, i'd be glad to help for a while :)


There is a person trying to compile for Win 64 here:
http://www.yafaray.org/community/forum/ ... =12&t=2872

Maybe you should create a workgroup.
Also you can contact Darktide in the IRC channel, he's doing the Win 32 builds.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain


Return to News & Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron