View topic - blender crashes when I use yafaray

blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post here general questions about usage of YafaRay and about the Blender Exporter UI

blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Sun Jan 04, 2015 7:51 pm

I don't know if this is a blender problem or a yafaray problem because this is the only engine that it does it to. When I select yafaray blender crashes, sometimes. Other times when I do a render. I've checked the console and no errors. I was just wondering if anyone could help
joshp1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Wed Jan 14, 2015 8:07 am

joshp1, your not alone!

I've installed Blender (2.72) on an USB-Drive ... on one computer (Windows 7 x64) Yafaray works on the other one (Windows 8.1 x64) it does not!
All I get is this ntdll.dll error, which I can not fix. Very annoying. :evil:
Blender 2.73
Yafaray 1.5.0
Windows 7/8.1 x64
Gilu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:23 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:26 pm

Hi, I'm also having the same problem. I just installed yafaray a while ago and when I render the scene I get the "Blender stopped working" message. Running Blender 2.72.
avagantamo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:20 pm

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:57 pm

Gilu wrote:joshp1, your not alone!

I've installed Blender (2.72) on an USB-Drive ... on one computer (Windows 7 x64) Yafaray works on the other one (Windows 8.1 x64) it does not!
All I get is this ntdll.dll error, which I can not fix. Very annoying. :evil:


maybe this could work
https://www.google.com/#q=ntdll.dll
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:20 pm

Samo wrote:maybe this could work
https://www.google.com/#q=ntdll.dll


I wish :-\
Tried different things, even downloading and replacing the local ntdll.dll ... only that windows 8.1 refused to boot for a few times and tried a repair some files - fail! Somehow I'm back ... still don't know the entire damage from this little excursion.

Funny thing is, I tried it on virtualbox on windows 7, Yafaray works. I ran Blender from the same directory on virtualbox as with windows 8.1.

Summary: I can't replace the ntdll.dll without bricking my pc - without replacing ntdll.dll, Yafaray won't work :-[
Blender 2.73
Yafaray 1.5.0
Windows 7/8.1 x64
Gilu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:23 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:53 am

The same problem for me too. Installed Blender 2.72 on a pc with Windows 8.1 64bit (fresh installed OS) and than installed the Yafaray 0.1.5 addon in Blender.

When I try to render a scene with Yafaray -> "Blender stopped working"
When I simply go to the material screen (while having Yafaray selected as render) -> "Blender stopped working"

But actually I have no ntdll.dll error...

Any ideas what could cause such a problem? Must have something to do with Win8.1 64 bit, because I have no problems with Win7 64bit and Blender 2.72/Yafaray 0.1.5

I would be really glad if that could be solved somehow ;) Thanks!
schnellchecker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:40 am

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:52 am

I suspect it is the material preview windows producing issues which is calling a yafaray rendering event. That could be the reason it crashes either when you launch render or when you go to the materials panels. Also we somewhat need more diversity of builds, done with different compilers on different systems etc.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:26 pm

Is there some kind of logging-mode in blender? If so, I can log you what happens in python while doing the rendering (crashing^^).

I use Blender 2.72 with Yafaray 0.1.5 on all my systems (2x Win8.1 64bit and 1x Win7 64bit) and the combination only works with Win7.

What else can I do to help?
schnellchecker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:40 am

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:45 am

Hi,

I just discover that when isolating the plugins folder from the bin\plugin, yafaray works normally except that no material preview, no render image since
the plugin library of dlls is isolated.

I suspect that crashes for win 8, using Blender 2.71 or higher version is caused by the plugin dlls not compatible with Win 8 drivers or it has something to do with python 3.4
or maybe since if all the plugin dlls are compiled using mingw which may not be compatible with Win 8.

Attached is my test. I manage to run yafaray in Blender 2.71, 2.72, 2.73 but without crashing Blender but no plugin folder.

These may be a clue to developers and I hope it helps pin down the culprit of the crashes somehow. :wink:
Attachments
yaf02.jpg
It renders after but no image output and not material preview since plugins folder is isolated.
yaf01.jpg
Yafaray bin folder without plugins, yafaray runs
yaf00.jpg
yafaray bin folder with plugins then running it with Blender
3djkk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:00 pm

Please try this build:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=5075
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:57 pm

Thank You!
Works with Windows 8.1 x64 and Blender 2.73!
Blender 2.73
Yafaray 1.5.0
Windows 7/8.1 x64
Gilu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:23 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:49 am

Hi David,

This really works!
Thanks for the build.....I have tested in Win 8.1 Blender 2.73 64 bit.
32 bit build is working good as well...
Attachments
win 8.1 64 bit B2.73 32bit.JPG
Blender 2.73 32bit Win 8.1 64bit
win 8.1 64bit B2.73.JPG
Blender 2.73 64bit Win 8.1 64bit
3djkk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:21 pm

Thank you, guys, I'm glad that it works for you.

I've made two new "Beta 2" for 64bit and 32bit. The only change is that you don't need to copy the two DLLs to the main Blender folder. These will likely become the next official builds for Yafaray, so if you also want to test them (just in case there is some new issue, although I think not) they are in:

http://www.yafaray.org/node/612#comment-812

If you use "beta2" then you can delete the files libstdc++-6.dll and libwinpthread-1.dll from the main Blender folder that were needed by beta1. Please let us know if these beta2 versions still work fine for you.

Thanks and best regards!
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: blender crashes when I use yafaray

Post Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:35 pm

sorry about taking so long to reply but thank you David Bluecame that worked.
joshp1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 7:00 pm


Return to General Questions and Blender Exporter UI



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron