View topic - YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Users-contributed CVS development builds. Post here your questions about compiling the source code.

YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:49 pm

Hello, all!

I want to wish you a very Happy New Year 2016.

Also, a new year deserves a New YafaRay. I would like to announce the new YafaRay-E (Experimental) v2.0.0

A lot of work involved and many changes, so I would expect some bugs (hopefully not too many). The main changes are the implementation of Render Passes and Render Views, but there are more that I will try to explain more over the next weeks with some examples I will prepare and upload over time.

The full ChangeLog and download links are here with builds for Linux 32bit/64bit, Windows 32bit/64bit and Mac OSX 64bit:
https://github.com/DavidBluecame/Blender-Exporter/releases/tag/v2.0.1

Please keep in mind that due to hardware limitations the Mac OSX build had very little testing.

I hope you enjoy it,

EDIT 2016-01-05: Updated to v2.0.1 to fix a regression in v2.0.0 where Instances were not working (affecting particle fields)
Last edited by David Bluecame on Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.0 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:27 am

Mac OSX build added today, I've edited the first post accordingly.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.0 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:17 am

Hello,

I've uploaded a zip file with two CornellBox examples as well as PNG/EXR images with the results (generated by selecting output to "file" instead of "into blender")

https://github.com/DavidBluecame/YafaRay---unofficial-Builds/raw/master/YafaRay-E%20v2.0.0%20Example%20Files%202015-12-26.zip

There is an example with a CornellBox with Render Passes and another example using Render Passes combined with 3 cameras and Render Views (multiview). In the example with Render Views I also exported the results into MultiLayer EXR (which is also a new functionality I added to YafaRay-v2.0.0).

I plan to post more examples of the new v2.0.0 functionality but think these are the most relevant. Please feel free to try Blender Compositor as well.

Please let me know any issues with all details you can provide.

Also, if you want to see the masking functionality in action, please watch this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXs7otE1NFs

I recorded that video months ago in a preliminary version with Render Passes, so you will see some differences, but the workflow for Masking should be pretty much the same.

I hope you like it.

Best regards. David.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.0 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:14 am

WOW!
Thanks a lot for this release! :o :o :o :o :o
stkopp
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:09 am

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.0 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:15 pm

Thank you very much David, and Happy New Year!
Harvester
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.0 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:08 pm

Thank you, guys!

Harvester: now the layers are in the correct place at last ;-)
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:43 pm

I've updated the links in the first post to the new v2.0.1 with an important fix for a regression in v2.0.0 where Instances were not working (affecting particle fields)
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:02 pm

Hello David,
Firstly a happy new year to you and all the Yafaray community.

Thank you so much for working so hard. A big big thanks for this new release. I'll be testing it as from next week.
flagus
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:45 am

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:24 pm

Hi there

I would like you to confirm a small bug I think I have encounter also in the previous release 1.0.0. The bug is that when you open an old scene, probably done with Blender 2.6, sometimes a YafaRay material does not load its material settings and a message is shown in the material slot which says node <none>, do you think it is worth reporting it in the bugtracker? Happens in yaf 2.0.0 blender 2.76b win64 with the enzo scene from the scenes repository which BTW I am planning to update.
Attachments
matbug.jpg
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:21 pm

Samo wrote:Hi there

I would like you to confirm a small bug I think I have encounter also in the previous release 1.0.0. The bug is that when you open an old scene, probably done with Blender 2.6, sometimes a YafaRay material does not load its material settings and a message is shown in the material slot which says node <none>, do you think it is worth reporting it in the bugtracker? Happens in yaf 2.0.0 blender 2.76b win64 with the enzo scene from the scenes repository which BTW I am planning to update.


Hello,

I'm not sure that's a bug in YafaRay. It looks more like YafaRay does not support nodes and that material (for some reason) was modified to use nodes.

Please switch momentarily to Blender Internal, so you can change the material from a "node" material to a normal material and then change back to YafaRay.

As materials will be my next step (as time allows, of course!), if I can, I will try to integrate better YafaRay in Blender's material node system.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:46 am

Hi David

I have found an scene which is throwing black dots in YafaRay 2.0.0, yet it does not happen in YafaRay 1.1.0 or previous versions. In this case is the glossy coated material I used for carpaint which is producing the black dots, since it does not happen if I change to shinydiffuse with fresnel mirror or to glossy alone.

PD: Windows 64 builds
Attachments
yafaray200.jpg
yafaray 2.0.0
yafaray110.jpg
yafaray 1.1.0
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:10 pm

Hello,

Is this the same enzo scene unmodified or does it have any changes you made lately?

If it's modified, please will you send me your current "version" of the scene?

Thanks!
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:13 pm

I am modifying the scene for a new demos repository since they need an update because of the new color system and so on. Tomorrow morning I will post a link.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sat Jan 09, 2016 12:21 pm

Hi David

Here you can download the scene:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9Xy9 ... VI1VlpESUU

You need to disable ambient oclussion to see the black dots. If you enable AO, black dots dissapear. Crazy, isn't it? 8)

I have a question, the layers result can only be accessed through the EXR ouput, f.e. it does not appear in the render layers node in the Blender compositor yet, am I right?
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E v2.0.1 for Blender 2.76b Windows, Linux and MacOSX

Post Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:32 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the scene. I will be investigate, but over the next weeks I will be very busy with my daily work, so this could take some time.

About compositing, I made the Render Passes changes so you can use the Passes in:
* Blender Compositor
* Image output or XML interface (any of the supported image formats), it will save a separate image per pass unless if you use multilayer EXR where it will save all passes within the EXR multilayer.

However, I noticed that to be able to use Blender Compositor you need to enable it, and when using YafaRay as render engine that option is not available (I will have to add it in future versions). For now please do this:
* Switch temporarily to Blender Internal.
* In the Properties -> Render tab, go to PostProcessing and enable Compositing.
* Switch back to YafaRay render.
* Go to node editor -> click "Compositing Nodes" button and enable "Use Nodes"
* Enable all passes you want and render.
* You should be able to work with the compositing nodes and the composite output as usual, with full access to all YafaRay passes in the Render Layers node.

Some example screenshots using Compositor attached.
Attachments
Captura de pantalla de 2016-01-09 14-44-36.png
Captura de pantalla de 2016-01-09 14-44-31.png
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Next

Return to Testing Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron