View topic - YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Users-contributed CVS development builds. Post here your questions about compiling the source code.

YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Wed Oct 14, 2015 7:45 pm

Hello,

I've released a new version of the YafaRay-E (Experimental) testing branch. I've prepared builds for Linux 32bit / 64bit and for Windows 32bit / 64 bit. You have the description of the new version and the download links here:

https://github.com/DavidBluecame/Blender-Exporter/releases/tag/v1.0.0

For more information, read the README file, the INSTALL file and the CHANGELOG file.

The changes between the last version (v0.1.99-beta4) and this version (v1.0.0) are significant, and they could create new issues, so please test this new version and let us know in the YafaRay.org forums and/or bugtracker any issues you have with it.

The list of changes between Experimental v0.1.99-beta4 and v1.0.0 are (including the changes made in v0.1.99-beta4c which was not released and v1.0.0):

Yafaray-E v1.0.0 (2015-10-13) for Blender 2.76:
-----------------------------------------------
Note: from v1.0.0 I will no longer use the suffix "beta", as all YafaRay-Experimental versions are inherently betas ;-). I will use for version scheme: "Major.Minor.Bugfix". Major will be very important and structural changes with possible API breakage, Minor will be new and modified functionality without API breakage, Bugfix will be small changes and bugfixes.

- IMPORTANT CHANGES to Color Management and Color Pipeline Linear Workflow: http://www.yafaray.org/node/670

Initial prototype to try to fix the (apparently broken) YafaRay color pipeline workflow and to replace the simple gamma input/output correction with a proper sRGB decoding/coding in non-HDR files.

* Improved Blender Color Space integration.
* The "simple" gamma correction has been replaced by Color Spaces:
- LinearRGB Linear values, no gamma correction
- sRGB sRGB encoding/decoding
- XYZ XYZ (very experimental) support
- Raw_Manual_Gamma Raw linear values that allow to set a simple gamma output correction manually

* Fixed: Double application of input gamma to the Blender Color picker. So now scenes will look brighter in general, but they should also look more realistic with less tweaking.
* Gamma input correction no longer used. The color picker floating point color values will be considered already linear and no conversion applied to them.
* For textures, added specific per-texture Color Space and gamma parameters.
* The color values exported to the XML file will be encoded acording to Blender Output Device Color Space setting.
* In yafaray-xml, new commandline option added: "-ics" or "--input-color-space" that allows to select how to interpret the XML color values. By default, for backwards compatibility, color values will be read as "LinearRGB", but using "-ics sRGB", the color values will be interpreted as sRGB. This setting does *not* affect the textures, as they have already per-texture specific color space/gamma parameters.
* Fixed: when exporting to file there was an error in Blender while reopening it to be shown in the Blender image view.


Several bug tracker entries are supposed to be fixed with this change:
* Color pipeline bug: http://www.yafaray.org/node/670
* Linear output forced on every scene: http://www.yafaray.org/node/603
* Gamma 1.80 input on linux: http://www.yafaray.org/node/604
* Forward compatibility with Blender Color Management: http://www.yafaray.org/node/547
* Gamma correction performed on EXR files: http://www.yafaray.org/node/549



- IMPORTANT CHANGES to Volumetrics for proper raytracing of volumes:

Problems with volumes and transparent objects have been reported in the bug tracker several times:
http://yafaray.org/node/289
http://yafaray.org/node/666

The problem was that Volumes were not really included in the raytracing process, so they were not reflected nor refracted. Now Volumes have been included in the raytracing process, so they can be refracted and reflected as any other objects. This is a significant change that could cause new issues, so please let us know about any problems in YafaRay bug tracker.

Now, if there are no parameters set in the XML for transparent background or transparent refracted background, their default values will be "false" and not "true" as until now. This will avoid confusion due to the new way "transparent refracted background" works, not rendering the background at all so volumes rendered against a transparent background do not carry "remains" of the background with them.

- Fix for attenuation when using 2 or more volumetric objects: http://www.yafaray.org/node/332

- Fix for error message "Index out of bounds in pdf1D_t" when spotlights with falloff > 0.70 and photons were used: http://www.yafaray.org/node/681

- Fix for Alpha Premultiply broken in Blender exporter: http://www.yafaray.org/node/682 Now the "Premultiply Alpha" option is back in the Exporter, but only when Export to file or to xml is selected. Premultiply will now be forced to true when exporting into Blender.

- Fix for some YafaRay camera panels incorrectly appearing in LuxRender!



Yafaray-E v0.1.99-beta4c (2015-07-29) for Blender 2.75 RC:
----------------------------------------------------------
Note: builds were not created for this version, as it was only used for limited-scale testing. However, the changes made in this version remain in newer Releases and builds.

More info about the discussion and changes: http://www.yafaray.org/node/662

- Fix for issue where Final Gather uses non-IBL background in glass: http://www.yafaray.org/node/572

- Fix for white dots in Path Tracer integrator: http://www.yafaray.org/node/662

- Fix for bump mapping artifacts: http://www.yafaray.org/node/660
WARNING: I've made significant changes to the bump mapping when using image textures, trying to improve it and get results more similar to Blender, but it could cause new issues so enough testing should be done to make sure bump/normal mapping still works correctly.

- Improvements to the noise fireflies in Rough Glass: http://www.yafaray.org/node/663

- New parameter to enable/disable lights. In the XML, into each "light" section you can add:
<light_enabled bval="false"/> or <light_enabled bval="true"/>

- Ability to control per-light shadow casting. In blender exporter this is in the new "advanced settings" at the very bottom of the light panel. In the xml file, you can add this to the "light" sections:
<cast_shadows bval="true"/> or <cast_shadows bval="false"/>

- New per-material "visibility" enum parameter that can have the following values:

'normal' (default): Normal - Normal visibility - visible casting shadows.
'no_shadows': No shadows - visible but not casting shadows.
'shadow_only': Shadows only - invisible but casting shadows.
'invisible': Invisible: totally invisible material.


I hope you find it interesting. Best regards!
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:53 am

Thank you David ! A very important release for the YafaRay Project.

I would like to point out that this new version of YafaRay and the Blender exporter is not backwards compatible with previous versions of YafaRay and the Blender exporter because of the critical color pipeline bug.

Except from users finishing right now a work with previous versions, we recommend upgrading if you don't mind about the experimental nature of this new version.

We will keep malfunctioning versions (YafaRay 0.1.5 and beta 0.1.99) available for users needed to review old scenes with a YafaRay version actually compatible with it.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3093
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:50 pm

Hello,

Please download the example Volumetric scenes (updated for latest Blender/YafaRay) from here:

https://github.com/DavidBluecame/YafaRay---unofficial-Builds/raw/master/Volumetrics%20test%20scenes%20(updated%202015-10-15).zip

I hope it helps. Best regards.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:48 pm

Hi David,

First of all thank you for this build and the great work that has been done on it!

One first feedback I wish to provide you is to move the Layers information from the Render to the Render Layers panel.
Harvester
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:13 am

Harvester wrote:Hi David,

First of all thank you for this build and the great work that has been done on it!

One first feedback I wish to provide you is to move the Layers information from the Render to the Render Layers panel.


Hello,

Thanks for the feedback. That is already in progress, and will be implemented in YafaRay-E v2.0.0 along with Render Passes.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:11 pm

Thanks for this great release David, and for your efforts on keeping Yafaray updated :D
User avatar
afecelis
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 1:17 am
Location: Colombia

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:21 pm

Thanks David. One further suggestion for the Blend material, if feasible and if not already planned, is to be able to select the materials without having to manually type the material's name in the two fields, Material One and Two.
Harvester
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:09 pm

Hello,

Unfortunately having to type the name of the materials is an "improvement". Before, we could just use a dropdown menu to select the materials, but... unfortunately Blender API is not too good... and when you deleted or added materials, all the "blend" material components changed!!

So, for this release, I decided to change it and manually select the material names. Now, if new materials are added or existing materials are removed, the blend components will not change. The only problem will happen if you change the name of a material that has been used by a blend material. In that case it will not render as expected but you will see a warning in the YafaRay Log so you can spot (hopefully easily) which material is causing the issue.

I've dedicated some time to this and unfortunately I could not come up with a better solution yet. Probably the best thing would be to convince Blender to improve their API so we can have "permanent references" to the Blender objects that we can use to link Blend material to other materials.

EDIT: I've seen that povmaniaco in his fork has something like a "mix" between entering the material names by hand and using a dropdown. I will take a look at it and perhaps try to do something similar in YafaRay.
Last edited by David Bluecame on Thu Oct 22, 2015 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:25 pm

Thank you!
Great news.
polokk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:43 pm

Ohh! You can use these code but.. don't change my nick!! :) 'povaniaco' sound weird..
povmaniac
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:01 am

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 22, 2015 5:23 pm

Edited ;-)

Thank you!
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Sat Oct 24, 2015 6:15 pm

Hello David,
Really big big thanks for this new release. Please continue with this awesome job.
flagus
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:45 am

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:28 pm

We are looking for a OSX maintainer since Jens can not longer do it.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3093
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:19 am

Harvester wrote:Thanks David. One further suggestion for the Blend material, if feasible and if not already planned, is to be able to select the materials without having to manually type the material's name in the two fields, Material One and Two.


Hello,

This feature will be available in the upcoming YafaRay-E v1.1.0 (thanks, povmaniaco! :-)

The changes are here:
https://github.com/DavidBluecame/Blende ... 17ef29c0ad
User avatar
David Bluecame
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Spain

Re: YafaRay-E (Experimental) v1.0.0 builds Windows and Linux

Post Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:22 pm

Hi David, I would like to gratefully thank you for making this build especially for Linux (32-bit)
I couldn't get the chances to use it since i'm stuck with a Linux 32bit OS :(

Now i can enjoy playing around with it :D
Feels a whole new program for me to play with (First time using Yafaray)

I got a little suggestion, I was trying to find an option to turn off the Mipmaps filter in Textures tab but couldn't find it..
Looks like Yafaray doesn't have that thing (Yet) or maybe i can't find it.

It is possible for you to add a Filter option? Like the one in Blender Internals and Cycles, there's a feature to make the textures not blurry and stay sharp.

This is the result i rendered in Yafaray
Blurry Textures.
Image

This is what i wanted, Rendered in Cycles (Same result with Internal)
Image
Sam Salvi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:49 pm

Next

Return to Testing Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests