View topic - Compiling Yafaray in Windows

Compiling Yafaray in Windows

Users-contributed CVS development builds. Post here your questions about compiling the source code.

Compiling Yafaray in Windows

Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:20 am

Greetings friends !

I'm seeking some help or insight into how to get yafaray to successfully compile in Windows.

I've managed to get the latest SVN Blender+Exporter & SVN Yafaray compiled and installed on Ubuntu 32bit. It's working fantastically and performs quite well.

I would like to do the same in Windows and I've been having nothing but problems.

Is this common ? Or am I just a total newb heheh

I first tried compiling using MinGW Blender compiles perfectly with scons, but when I tried to add the modifications for the yafaray exporter, I started immediately running into errors.

Also, I tried compiling yafaray with MinGW and also was having problems. With everything set up default it was telling me that I don't have any of the req'd libs (which I know I do).

Ok .... so I gave up after tinkering with MinGW for a while. (Ideally this is what I'd like to compile Blender and Yafaray with)

On to MSVC++ Express ....

After some setting up and getting all the paths right for the libraries and includes and whatnot ... I was able to get Blender compiled perfectly, but when I tried to add the modifications for the Yafaray exporter code, once again errors started popping up.

I successfully compiled Yafaray from latest SVN with MSVC++ Express, but when running with a Yafaray patched pre-compiled Blender, it gives an error first about not having some MSVC runtime DLL's, then after i get the dll's moved to the same folder, it crashes with a Runtime error. I think I read somewhere that both Blender and Yafaray have to be built on the same compiler for the two to work together. Is this true ?

Anyways ... I'm new to this forum, and perhaps this is a long and annoying post, but I'm hoping someone can shed some light on my problems.

thanks,