View topic - Build: Yaf(a)ray 201 & Blender rev. 14901 (Windows)

Build: Yaf(a)ray 201 & Blender rev. 14901 (Windows)

Users-contributed CVS development builds. Post here your questions about compiling the source code.

Build: Yaf(a)ray 201 & Blender rev. 14901 (Windows)

Post Wed May 28, 2008 11:41 am

I've rescued this build made by Xray from the other thread, many thanks to him.

Windows builds:
Yaf(a)ray 201
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=7UTE3J99

Blender_r14901.zip (7.88 MB)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=R6K2NL7I

As far as I know, Blender 12680 won't work with the latest Yaf(a)ray, so you'll probably need my build of Blender.

Zshare mirror:
http://www.zshare.net/download/123039091708067e/
http://www.zshare.net/download/123040017f5fb564/


If is recommended to install yaf(a)ray 196 first, and then just replace the Yafaray folder content (in Program Files) with the new one. If not, you will have to manually set up a registry key to tell blender where to find yaf(a)Ray.

A registry key would look like this
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE: SOFTWARE: YafRay Team: YafaRay
Alfanum value: InstallDir
Information: (your instalation folder path here...)

In this revision the new volumetric stuff is added. A short guide by Bert:

First choose the single scatter integrator at the "Render" tab. Choose a step size, don't make it too small, or your renders will take forever, too big means too small resolution for small details.

Second, add a box to the scene, go to the "Object" tab. Make it a volume there and play around with the sigma values, leave emission and g at 0. Only use noise and uniform volume with current SVN, with the next commit, some more will be useful. The box will contain your volume (the medium, which will become visible if you direct a light at it). Use sigma_s for scattering (clouds, steam, fog) and sigma_a for pure absorption (like dark smoke).

If you use the noise volume, you must have a texture with the name "mytex" (NOT the material but the texture, so it must read on the texture tab TE:mytex). This will be changed in the future, it's a quick hack.

Then add a light source, which sees your box. Rendering now should give you something visible. Best to use for now with "Direct rendering", the other integrators might still lack quite some integration).

The next commit will add a significant amount of speed optimization, so don't worry, if it's still slow atm.

Image
Last edited by Samo on Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:55 pm, edited 7 times in total.
User avatar
Samo
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Spain

Post Thu May 29, 2008 11:00 am

I have a problem with this build ,when i push Render than blender just crasht, he shut down ,i have this new build ,please help.

EDIT sorry (i fix the problem)
adrian2608
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:33 pm
Location: Gliwice ,Poland

Post Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:41 pm

I would really appreciate some screenshots of the scene and render settings - no matter how much I try I can't get that volumetric light...
User avatar
mookie
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Poland


Return to Testing Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron